Rune's Furry Blog

Furry Highlights!

This is NOT okay: (Begging & asking to buy characters that are not for sale!)

Erie EDIT

So, my buddy Flamesvoices got this message last night about her character Erie…and I would like to say that the post is actually ‘harmless’.

It is harmless because it is merely a question, and the person said that it was okay if my friend denied their request and said no. They were really polite about it all. But just because the post was harmless does not make this post okay.

In the Furry Fandom, there is a type of etiquette to be followed. There is a certain way things need to be handled. It’s actually pretty simple: “If it does not say it is for sale, do not ask to buy it.” / same thing goes if you see a character you like and want it: “If it does not have an offer-to-adopt posted on it, then you can not have it.”

Because while my buddy got that message last night, I woke up to a comment on my Protogen Blog Post asking me this:

No EDIT

As you can see…I came off as a bit hostile. But, that’s because this type of post really bothers me. Nothing ever said that Portal was for sale or that he was up for adoption. I still use Portal and he has other art that I have paid for. I have ‘invested’ in this character which was made for me by my friend…

…and yes, even though it was just a question, you don’t just ask someone to hand over something they have invested money into as a “gift”.

Something I don’t think people realize is that for a lot of us in the fandom…our characters actually mean something to us. They are not just a creature with crazy colors, patterns, or themes. They have something else behind them. Erie was Flamesvoices main bab and still is (in a sense)- Erie also gets stolen a lot by people that love the design, so my buddy is highly protective of her.

For me, Portal was made around the time I had just beaten Portal. Not to mention, my buddy wanted a Primagen forever, and when Protogen came out, I discovered them first, told her about them, and she made me Portal as a way of saying thanks. She even made a companion cube version for herself so that Portal would have a buddy.

—Fursonas and Characters are supposed to represent a piece of you. That is why I highly suggest making your own character because it makes it more special. That’s not to say you can’t buy a character or adopt one, or even get one as a gift…but please don’t ask someone for a character that they have not put up for sale or adoption just because you “like” them.

  1. Portal is not available
  2. Erie is not for sale
  3. Do not go begging for Fursonas – join facebook groups for free furry art, or enter raffles to get a character of your own.
  4. Do not copy a Fursona just because you like it.
  5. Do not steal a Fursona- you will get caught and there will be consequences.
  6. If it is not for sale, do not ask to buy it.
  7. If it is not up for adopt, do not ask for it (again, this is begging and no one likes a beggar)

——–

That is all I have to say on the matter.
I understand that some people are younger and may not be up-to-speed on how the Furry Fandom runs. I had to learn a few things the hard-way as well, but take this as an educational post and learn from it.

Thank you all for tuning into this rant, I will see you all in the next blog post.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment